TheDeadOne.net on Tags and Categories

Software: TDO Tag Fixes WordPress Plugin – “Some fixes and extensions for WordPress tags such as a tag cloud using only tags found in a specific category and also tag and category intersection.”


Ward references Ryan Boren’s “Taxonomy Intersections and Unions“.
<rant>
I gotta tell you, on the subject of corporate culture, there is something that really really really pisses me off about that sort of document. (Who am I to talk, you ask? I’ve been working on technical documents since 1972. And I’ll say there’s only a very slight probability that you have any clue what “heavy lifting” is really all about. MIL-SPEC FMECA, NORAD/SAC comms, TELCO … mind-bendingly difficult, and all of it has to be written squeaky clean.) I don’t want to be insulting, but there’s a way of writing something in 15 minutes that leaves 90% of the readers in the dark … “hermetic” … and it could be clarified with another 30 minutes spent on clarification.

A reference document stands and works for weeks and months. “Too busy” to do it right in 45 minutes? Snotty crap … plausibly-deniable passive aggression. Take your “too busy” and shove it you.know.where.
</rant>

4 comments so far

  1. Mark on

    Eh, what? Who are you ranting at? I didn’t think my plugin was that bad? 🙂

  2. bentrem on

    /* edited to remove ill-tempered spew */

    In context of a conversation I would take this as a good-natured jab.
    But ignoring what I wrote and leaving the impression that I’d dissed you …
    … sorry, I fail to find it humorous.

    *WTF!*

    /* edited to remove ill-tempered spew */

  3. Mark on

    Hi Bentrem,

    I simply don’t understand what the issue is in your original post. Are you complaining about my post or Ryan Boren’s post? I just don’t understand the issue, that is all.

    Thanks

  4. bentrem on

    Mark, I even included a horizontal rule to seperate my comment on Ryan’s “documentation” from my link to your plugin.

    If that’s not meaningful, it my comments aren’t obviously about his stuff, then *shrug* sorry. Not likely anything I write will mean anything to you … which I find dang odd.

    This doesn’t make sense to you?
    “there’s a way of writing something in 15 minutes that leaves 90% of the readers in the dark and it could be clarified with another 30 minutes spent on clarification.”
    That’s too weird for you? Big workds like “in the dark” and “clarify”?

    *Ok, I’ll stop here, I’m getting pissed off.*


Leave a Reply

